Remember Me


Forgotten Password?

Tunngle Community: Tunngle conflict with Ad Muncher program - Tunngle Community

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Tunngle conflict with Ad Muncher program Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   supraspecies Icon

  • Average Tunngler
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: 04-June 11
  • Tunngle Username: supraspecies
Reputation: 30
Average

Posted 09 July 2013 - 12:39

Ad Muncher is an anti-banner software. It filters connection itself, so it can remove adverts not only from web browsers, but from any other programs as well. It does remove Tunngle ads, but that isn't the issue.

When Ad Muncher is active, even when ad filtering is disabled and filtering specific program (Tunngle) is disabled, Tunngle still has scrolling bugs just because Ad Muncher is launched. That little checkbox near the scroll bar? Not checkable at all. And when Tunngle scrolls, it cuts off half of the buttom text line. All that just because Ad Muncher is active (and all filtering is disabled).

Now, I do expect Tunngle developers to take no responsibility for conflicts with an external program, but someone should do something. Next it may have conflicts with my antivirus software, with my operating system, then what?

Previous Tunngle versions (4.4, I believe) did not have any kind of conflicts. No idea why 4.5 does.

Maybe you could contact Ad Muncher developer and inform him that his software ruins yours. I could do that myself, but I am in no way a representative of your software, so I don't know how that would work.

Posted Image
1

#2 User is offline   Brioche Icon

  • Tunngle Team
  • View gallery
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 13408
  • Joined: 25-April 09
  • Location: International Tunngle HQ, Italy
  • Tunngle Username: brioche
Reputation: 7505
Tunngle Master

Posted 09 July 2013 - 17:25

Hi :), thanks for reporting.
We have a page where you can post your findings: Compatibility_with_Third-Party_Software ;).
This will help other people with the issue ;).



If you need help check this and this.
Tunngle Voice | Forum Games: #1 #2 #3
Google pattern "Tunngle Wiki" yourquestion (e.g. "Tunngle Wiki Signature"). Check for new version! Click here for help! Follow Tunngle on Facebook Follow Tunngle on YouTubeFollow Tunngle on Twitter
0

#3 User is offline   supraspecies Icon

  • Average Tunngler
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: 04-June 11
  • Tunngle Username: supraspecies
Reputation: 30
Average

Posted 09 August 2013 - 06:30

A little more on the issue. I contaqcted Ad Muncher developers, described the problem, and received the following statement:

If it happens when Ad Muncher is disabled but running then there's nothing we can do about it.

The program just doesn't like Ad Muncher living in memory and the hooking we use.

This is something they have to fix.

Sincerely,
Jeffrey Cole


What would be Tunngle Team's return statement? Ad Muncher developers seem to think the problem is on your end. I will gladly post my findings in the thread if I get any more info on the problem, but as a user of your software, I'm afraid I have to ask: are you working on solving compatibility issues described in the thread you mention? Or planning to work on them? I do realize you have a lot of goals, and still a lot of problems to solve. I am not rushing and I will understand if you will say "no", but that is something I need to know.


IMPORTANT NOTE:

I also noticed that if you click "Don't Panic" button, the scrolling and everything else returns to normal even with Ad Muncher being active. That probably indicates that a simple interface glitch is occuring, and I'm pretty sure it means that a workaround can be made. I only have to click on "Don't Panic" each time I enter a room, and everything is fine from then on. I can do it manually, but if it could be worked around, that would be really nice.

This post has been edited by supraspecies: 09 August 2013 - 06:51

1

#4 User is offline   Brioche Icon

  • Tunngle Team
  • View gallery
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 13408
  • Joined: 25-April 09
  • Location: International Tunngle HQ, Italy
  • Tunngle Username: brioche
Reputation: 7505
Tunngle Master

Posted 09 August 2013 - 06:57

Hi :), thanks for asking but our servers are expensive and at the moment the advertising income is the only thing barely covering our expenses.
If we were to disable advertising we would need to close down Tunngle because of the lack of money to run it.

For this reason I am pretty sure that we will not use our developing time to make our program compatible with an Ad Blocking software ;).
Ads might be annoying for somebody but they are the reason why everyone can use Tunngle for free ;).
If you would like to remove Ads you can purchase Tunngle Lifetime https://www.tunngle.net/lifetime/ and you will not see them anymore after login ;).

I will add the Ad Muncher to the Compatibility_with_Third-Party_Software page ;).



If you need help check this and this.
Tunngle Voice | Forum Games: #1 #2 #3
Google pattern "Tunngle Wiki" yourquestion (e.g. "Tunngle Wiki Signature"). Check for new version! Click here for help! Follow Tunngle on Facebook Follow Tunngle on YouTubeFollow Tunngle on Twitter
1

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


Toggle chat Chat

LizzyRaptorG... Icon : (29 July 2014 - 09:06 AM)
fart fart fart
LizzyRaptorG... Icon : (29 July 2014 - 09:05 AM)
Hi sexy
Jhay91 Icon : (29 July 2014 - 08:48 AM)
sent me the name of your lobby
Jhay91 Icon : (29 July 2014 - 08:47 AM)
venice addon btw
Jhay91 Icon : (29 July 2014 - 08:47 AM)
anyone playing anno 1404? i would love to join u
steve_le_sek Icon : (29 July 2014 - 07:54 AM)
;
YonksMan Icon : (29 July 2014 - 07:53 AM)
offline*
YonksMan Icon : (29 July 2014 - 07:52 AM)
Ofline Minecraft Server anyone?
Mike Harper Icon : (29 July 2014 - 04:21 AM)
@tunnglvb : You'll need Tunngle Lifetime to change your Tunngle nickname ;)
tunnglvb Icon : (29 July 2014 - 04:11 AM)
как поменять ник?
Marlon126 Icon : (29 July 2014 - 04:08 AM)
ae serve need for speed U2 alguem?
spencerdow2 Icon : (29 July 2014 - 03:39 AM)
hey guys
LucasBlasckesi Icon : (29 July 2014 - 01:42 AM)
algum br ae?
ttt008 Icon : (29 July 2014 - 01:11 AM)
ok
ttt008 Icon : (29 July 2014 - 01:10 AM)
sou br mano kkk
Meshuggah BG Icon : (29 July 2014 - 01:09 AM)
join some Rust gaming room with your Tunngle client, ttt008, and ask for an IP there
ttt008 Icon : (29 July 2014 - 01:08 AM)
someone tells me a server of rust
ttt008 Icon : (29 July 2014 - 01:08 AM)
alguém me fala um server de rust
ttt008 Icon : (29 July 2014 - 01:07 AM)
server of rust please
Meshuggah BG Icon : (29 July 2014 - 01:05 AM)
perguntar na sala de jogos de Rust :)
ttt008 Icon : (29 July 2014 - 01:04 AM)
server de rust
ttt008 Icon : (29 July 2014 - 01:04 AM)
sever de rust ae porfavor
Meshuggah BG Icon : (29 July 2014 - 01:01 AM)
Dark Vortex 29, nobody can steal your Tunngle username; as for the in-game player name it's quite possible, depending on the game itself
Meshuggah BG Icon : (29 July 2014 - 12:58 AM)
yes, DimtriPro - a legal copy :)
Fabeta Icon : (29 July 2014 - 12:57 AM)
Me decis ami salir de mi vida os rebientooo!
DimtriPro Icon : (29 July 2014 - 12:47 AM)
in arma 3
DimtriPro Icon : (29 July 2014 - 12:47 AM)
Illegal copies may degrade
DimtriPro Icon : (29 July 2014 - 12:46 AM)
is there a fix for
ObeseWhale Icon : (29 July 2014 - 12:06 AM)
ObeseWhale Icon : (29 July 2014 - 12:06 AM)
Dark Vortex 29 You can use the Tunngle Blacklist to block people in Tunngle
Resize Chat Area